Guided by Voices Announce 'Strut of Kings,' Their Only Album of 2024

The band's 40th LP is led by new single "Serene King"

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Apr 16, 2024

"Prolific" doesn't even feel like a strong enough word to describe the output of Guided by Voices, especially over the past few years. The band have now announced their 40th album, which they say will be the only one they release in 2024.

Strut of Kings saunters in on June 28 via Rockathon Records / GBV Inc., following 2023's Nowhere to Go but Up, Welshpool Frillies and La La Land

Frontman Robert Pollard told Stereogum, "I like unfocused albums, but this one seems more focused. The structures are more cohesive. It also has a nice balance of the genres in rock that I like. Some nice power-pop songs but also some fairly crazy stuff. A good balance, emotionally, of heavy and light."

It's previewed today by the relentlessly earworm-y "Serene King." Give it a listen below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.

Strut of Kings:

1. Show Me the Castle
2. Dear Onion
3. This Will Go On
4. Fictional Environment Dream
5. Olympus Cock in Radiana
6. Caveman Running Naked
7. Timing Voice
8. Bit of a Crunch
9. Serene King
10. Bicycle Garden

Pre-order Strut of Kings.

Latest Coverage