Georgia Anne Muldrow Readies New Album as Jyoti

Hear two songs from 'Mama, You Can Bet!' now

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished May 28, 2020

Georgia Anne Muldrow has readied a new album as Jyoti, a name she was given by the late Alice Coltrane. Titled Mama, You Can Bet!, the album is set to arrive August 28 through eOne Music/SomeOthaShip Connect.

Fifteen tracks in length, Mama, You Can Bet! follows Muldrow's previous two albums as Jyoti: 2010's Ocotea and 2013's Denderah. It also marks the first Jyoti release to feature vocals from Muldrow.

The album's lone guest musician is saxophonist Lakeica Benjamin, and also features a pair of remixed Charles Mingus compositions. "Bemoanable Lady Geemix" and "Fabus Foo Geemix," were both commissioned by the Kennedy Center in 2017.

Ahead of the album's arrival, you can hear singles "This Walk" and "The Cowrie Waltz" below. The former is described by Muldrow as how "violence can both ignite and snuff out a voice," while the latter finds her "taking some magic scalpel I found, slicing up a hard bop feel, and exposing its ribs and gut-meat to say: 'This is where the blues is.'" 

Last year, Muldrow released VWETO II, alongside Black Love & War with Dudley Perkins as G&D.

Mama, You Can Bet!:

1. Mama, You Can Bet!
2. Bop for Aneho
3. Zane, The Scribe
4. Our Joy (Mercedes)
5. Ra's Noise (Thukubad)
6. Bemoanable Lady Geemix
7. Orgone
8. Skippin and Trippin
9. Swing Kirikou, Swing
10. Quarrys, Queries
11. Ancestral Duckets
12. Hard Bap Duke
13. This Walk
14. Fabus Foo Geemix
15. The Cowrie Waltz

Latest Coverage