Friendly Rich Returns with 'Bountiful' Album

Friendly Rich Returns with 'Bountiful' Album
Kooky Ontario composer Friendly Rich was once known for his contributions to The Tom Green Show, but these days he releases albums and tours with his band the Lollipop People. His latest long-player is Bountiful, which is due out on June 24.

The album was recorded with returning producer Greg Dawson and features backing from Rich's longtime bandmates (although it's credited as a solo album rather than a full-band effort). It features 14 brand new tunes (plus a reprise).

A press release notes that it features "bluesy anthems inspired by the great Canadian Prime Minister Pierre Elliot Trudeau," while opening cut "Sausage Samba" is described as a "cinematic piece about mortadella." We'd also like to point out that there's a song called "Penis Suitcase." See the tracklist below, and scroll past that to hear "Sausage Samba."

The album is available to pre-order on iTunes.

The band will tour Europe in late June and early July (see the schedule here). After that, they will play a CD release show in Toronto on July 24 at the Horseshoe Tavern.


1. Sausage Samba
2. I Ain't Racist, but...
3. The Secret Tale of the Cuckoo Bird
4. Penis Suitcase
5. The Real Estate Song
6. Snow Woman
7. The Divine Providence of Paprika
8. Xavier
9. Pierre Elliot Trudeau's Train
10. Bountiful
11. Countryside Blues
12. Control-Alt-Delete
13. Paprika's Aria
14. Bread Waltz
15. Snow Woman (Reprise)