Fake Palms Unveil Sophomore 'Pure Mind' LP

You can hear the album's "Glass Walls" now

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jul 27, 2017

Nearly two years on from releasing their self-titled debut, Toronto's Fake Palms have lifted the curtain on their sophomore LP. Titled Pure Mind, the record arrives September 15 through Buzz Records/Pleasence Records.

The record is said to find the band "exploring a cleaner and more open sound than on previous releases," with Josh Korody (Beliefs) and Graham Walsh (Holy Fuck) serving as producers. A taste of the new sounds can be heard below with "Glass Walls."

Vocalist/guitarist Michael le Riche explained the song's genesis to GoldFlakePaint:

I was listening to a lot of 60's psych music and wanted to have a song with a chorus that felt reminiscent to that. I got really into the big, drawn out harmonies and the crawling basslines. The crescendo ending came while we were messing around playing the song and Simone flipped the beat around and created a whole new feel. As for a meaning, in the past I've always written about what a song means to me or what it's about, but these things always change with time, and so although I know what the song means to me now, I have no idea how it'll grow and change with me, so I'll just let it sit, and be what it wants to be.

Read through the tracklist to Pure Mind to hear "Glass Walls" below.

Pure Mind:

1. Fear
2. I'm Not There
3. Heaven Scent
4. Glass Walls
5. II
6. Perfect Day 
7. Fall Ahead
8. Holograms
9. Can't Erase
10. Cannot Describe
11. Yr Such A Nag

Latest Coverage