Fake Palms Announces New Album 'Lemons,' Shares Lead Single "Satellite"

Michael Le Riche's third record as Fake Palms arrives September 16

BY Kaelen BellPublished Jun 2, 2022

Fake Palms — the Toronto-based project of Michael le Riche — has announced a new album called Lemons, arriving September 16 on Hand Drawn Dracula

He's also shared a trippy, retro sci-fi video for ripping new single "Satellite." In a statement about Lemons, which features contributions from members of Dilly Dally, Ducks Ltd., Sauna and Twist, le Riche said:

This record is the most direct thing I've ever done. All the distorted guitars playing 16th-note riffs in different time signatures, washes of noise and buried vocals are basically gone. In their place, we made a record that's lean and a punch to the gut. There are still some moments where the guitars get a little tricky but, in general, we tried to be as immediate as possible. The songs are all fairly short and there are almost no extra production tricks. 

I was inspired by records like the Dead Boys' Young, Loud and Snotty and the Buzzcocks' Another Music in a Different Kitchen. Maybe because of what was going on in the world at the time, or maybe just as a reaction to the last Fake Palms record – which was flush with production flourishes – it just felt necessary to kick the door down instead of knocking.

Lemons is the follow-up to Fake Palms' 2017 full-length Pure Mind. Le Riche had previously taken time away from the project to focus on Sauna — with Weaves' Zach Bines and Greys' Braeden Craig — who released their debut album Dose Yourself in May. 

Check out the video for "Satellite" and see the Lemons tracklist below. 


1. Drain
2. Visions
3. Satellite
4. Wasted Silhouettes
5. Civil Liberties
6. The Curl
7. Flags
8. Bloom
9. Soft Fear

Pre-order Lemons.

Latest Coverage