Deafheaven Detail 'New Bermuda'

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Jul 28, 2015

Following yesterday's (July 27) teaser confirming that Deafheaven's new album would be released this fall through Anti-, the San Francisco blasters have now revealed even more details behind the LP. For one, it's titled New Bermuda, and it officially materializes on October 2.

A press release notes that the five-song collection from the shoegazing black metal crew was recorded last April at Oakland, CA's 25th Street Recording and East Palo Alto, CA's Atomic Garden Recording. The sessions were handled by producer/mixer Jack Shirley, who had worked with the group on past releases, including 2013 breakthrough Sunbather.

While Sunbather was recorded by vocalist George Clarke, guitarist Kerry McCoy and drummer Dan Tracy, New Bermuda has expanded the lineup to include bassist Stephen Lee Clark and guitarist Shiv Mehra. Clarke said in a statement that he's used the album title to "describe a new destination in life, a nebulous point of arrival, and an unknown future where things get swallowed up and dragged into darkness."

You'll find the artwork, which was prepped by artist Allison Schulnik, up above, while the tracklisting and the previously revealed trailer for New Bermuda can be seen down below.

New Bermuda:

1. Brought to the Water
2. Luna
3. Baby Blue
4. Come Back
5. Gifts for the Earth

Latest Coverage