Carson McHone Announces Daniel Romano-Produced Album 'Still Life,' Shares Title Track

Watch the McHone-directed video for the new single now

BY Matt BobkinPublished Jan 12, 2022

Carson McHone is a woman of many talents. Not only did she take the cover photo to Exclaim! Magazine's October/November 2020 issue, which featured her husband Daniel Romano, but she's also a singer-songwriter with a new album on the way. Still Life is set for release on February 25 via Merge.

Still Life expands the folk palette of McHone's previous albums, 2015's Goodluck Man and 2018's Carousel, by adding country and rock textures to the mix. Written in McHone's home state of Texas, the album was recorded in her current province of Ontario and produced by Romano.

Alongside the album announcement comes the release of its title track, a gently swaying folk-rock tune whose acoustic backbone is accented by chiming electric guitars and synths. The accompanying music video, directed by and starring McHone (what can't she do?!), finds her slowly running across a dusty road at night, backlit only by the occasional street lamp, mirroring the song's gently triumphant journey.

McHone is scheduled to take Still Life on the road by opening for Daniel Romano's Outfit for their lengthy tour of the States, Canada and Europe from February to July. At the shows, McHone will be backed by the Outfit before joining them for their headlining sets. The tour hits Canada from March 19 to 28, with shows in Vancouver, Victoria, Calgary, Edmonton, Saskatoon, Winnipeg and Regina.

Watch the "Still Life" video below, and keep scrolling for more information on the album.

Still Life:

1. Hawks Don't Share
2. Still Life
3. Fingernail Moon
4. Someone Else
5. Spoil on the Vine
6. Sweet Magnolia
7. Only Lovers
8. End of the World
9. Trim the Rose
10. Folk Song
11. Tried

Still Life is available for pre-order.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage