Bruce Cockburn Announces New Album 'O Sun O Moon'

Watch a lyric video for "Us All" ahead of the LP's May arrival

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Mar 7, 2023

You may have already guessed if you caught his tour of Western Canada last month, but Bruce Cockburn has a new album on the way. The acclaimed songwriter and guitarist will share 27th studio LP O Sun O Moon on May 12 via True North Records.

O Sun O Moon follows Cockburn's 2019 instrumental outing Crowing Ignites, making it the first album to feature his vocals since 2017's Bone on Bone. Like those two albums, Cockburn's latest was produced by Colin Linden, who also contributes guitar.

Cockburn's guestlist also includes Susan Aglukark, who sings in Inuktitut on "To Keep the World We Know," and vocalists Allison Russell, Sarah JaroszShawn Colvin, Buddy Miller, Ann and Regina McCrary, keyboardist Janice Powers, drummers Gary Craig and Chris Brown, bassist Viktor Krauss, accordionist Jeff Taylor, violinist Jenny Scheinman and multi-instrumentalist Jim Hoke.

Concertgoer-compiled setlist data from Cockburn's early 2023 tour points to album cuts "Orders," "When the Spirit Walks in the Room" and "Us All" getting road tested. You can hear the studio version of that last song alongside a lyric video below. 

Pre-order O Sun O Moon.

O Sun O Moon:

1. On a Roll
2. Orders
3. Push Comes to Shove
4. Colin Went Down to the Water
5. Into the Now
6. Us All
7. To Keep the World We Know
8. King of the Bolero
9. When the Spirit Walks in the Room
10. Haiku (Instrumental)
11. O Sun by Day O Moon by Night
12. When You Arrive

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage