Bill Callahan, Matt Valentine, Luke Schneider and More Pay Tribute to Bruce Cockburn on New Album

The album focuses on celebrating Cockburn's guitar playing

BY Kaelen BellPublished Mar 5, 2024

Bill Callahan, Matt Valentine, Luke Schneider, Jerry David DeCicca and more have come together for Imaginational Anthem Vol. XIII - Songs of Bruce Cockburn, a new tribute album to undersung Canadian folk legend Bruce Cockburn.

The album, which was curated by artist James Toth, is arriving April 5 on Tompkins Square. A description of the tribute album notes: "Bruce Cockburn is one of the most celebrated Canadian artists of all time. Unlike fellow Canadians Leonard Cohen, Joni Mitchell or Neil Young, Cockburn has not been fully embraced by a younger generation of indie musicians and younger fans."

Imaginational Anthem is the 13th volume in the Tompkins Square guitar series, and “although there is a focus on Bruce as a guitarist,” the tribute album also features vocal performances.

See the tracklist below.

Imaginational Anthem Vol. XIII - Songs of Bruce Cockburn:

1. "Foxglove" - Eli Winter
2. "40 Years in the Wilderness" - Jerry David DeCicca (feat. Bill Callahan)
3. "Up on the Hillside" - Matthew “Doc” Dunn
4. "Fall" - Powers Rolin Duo
5. "Pacing the Cage" - Lou Turner
6. "Waiting for a Miracle" - Wet Tuna
7. "One Day I Walk" - Armory Schafer
8. "You Don’t Have to Play the Horses" - Jody Nelson
9. "All the Diamonds" - Kyle Hamlett Duo (feat. Luke Schneider)

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage