Big Sugar to Release Acoustic Reggae Record

Big Sugar to Release Acoustic Reggae Record
Genre-melding '90s rockers Big Sugar staged a comeback with Revolutions Per Minute in 2011 followed by the live album Eliminate Ya! in 2013, and now the reunited group have yet another new record. Yardstyle is out on April 15 through eOne Music.

This acoustic record includes brand new songs, along with reworked versions of old material. It's inspired by the band's jam sessions on the tour bus and in the backstage lounge before shows.

"That place where our entire band gets together on a regular basis," frontman Gordie Johnson said in a statement. "We listen to the drumming and the chanting and we have a moment of mental focus before every show, we burn frankincense and other things, and everybody gets their mental game together, then we walk out and do a rock show."

The result of this approach is an unplugged collection of densely percussive reggae. Jamaican reggae vet Willi Williams also chipped in during the sessions.

At the bottom of this page, below the tracklist, watch a short trailer for the album. If you're suitably impressed, it's available to pre-order now on iTunes.


1. Calling All the Youth
2. Police Bway a Vampire
3. Little Bit a Alright
4. Messenger Man (ft. Willi Williams)
5. If I Were Heaven (Tonight)
6. West Coast Hobo in a Boxcar Blues
7. Eliminate Ya
8. Turn the Lights On
9. A Revolution Per Minute
10. Heart Refuse to Pound
11. 100 Cigarettes
12. I Want You Now
13. Go Tell the World
14. Capitola Stress (iTunes bonus track)