Babyshambles Return with 'Sequel to the Prequel'

BY Alex HudsonPublished Jul 2, 2013

In recent years, Pete Doherty has tended to get more recognition for his tabloid-worthy personal life than his music, but the former Libertines leader is putting the focus back on the tunes by announcing a new album with his band Babyshambles. Sequel to the Prequel will be out in the UK on September 2 via Parlophone.

This announcement follows reports from earlier this year that Doherty was working with returning producer Stephen Street, along with Stereophonics drummer Jamie Morrison filling in behind the kit. NME reports that the lineup is fleshed out by guitarist Mick Whitnall, keyboardist Stephen Large and John Robinson.

Doherty told NME, "I don't want this to be half arsed, I want to get up there and really fucking smash it out. Babyshambles aren't back — this band has always been here."

It was originally pegged as a Doherty solo album but obviously transformed into a Babyshambles effort.

The album will be preceded by the single "Nothing Comes to Nothing" on August 26. See the tracklist below. Sequel to the Prequel is Babyshambles' third album and their first since 2007's Shotter's Nation.

Sequel to the Prequel:

1. Fireman

2. Nothing Comes to Nothing

3. New Pair

4. Farmer's Daughter

5. Fall From Grace

6. Maybeline

7. Sequel to the Prequel

8. Dr. No

9. Penguins

10. Picture Me in a Hospital

11. Seven Shades of Nothing

12. Minefield

Latest Coverage