Arlo Parks Announces Sophomore Album 'My Soft Machine,' Shares New Single "Weightless"

It's the follow-up to 2020's acclaimed 'Collapsed in Sunbeams'

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jan 18, 2023

British singer-songwriter Arlo Parks has announced her sophomore album, led by new single "Weightless."

Named after a Tilda Swinton quote from The SouvenirMy Soft Machine is due May 26 via Transgressive. It follows Parks's Mercury Prize-winning 2020 debut Collapsed in Sunbeams.

"The world/our view of it is peppered by the biggest things we experience — our traumas, upbringing, vulnerabilities almost like visual snow," the singer-songwriter said in a statement. "This record is life through my lens, through my body — the mid 20s anxiety, the substance abuse of friends around me, the viscera of being in love for the first time, navigating PTSD and grief and self sabotage and joy, moving through worlds with wonder and sensitivity — what it's like to be trapped in this particular body." The 12-track collection features "Pegasus," a duet with the artist's longtime friend Phoebe Bridgers.

Of its simmering, horn-flecked lead single, Parks added, "'Weightless' surrounds the painful experience of caring deeply about someone who only gives you tiny breadcrumbs of affection. It's about suddenly realizing that a person has dulled your edges and embarking on the slow journey back to being a brighter version of yourself."

Watch the video for "Weightless" below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.

My Soft Machine:

1. Bruiseless
2. Impurities
3. Devotion
4. Blades
5. Purple Phase
6. Weightless
7. Pegasus (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
8. Dog Rose
9. Puppy
10. I'm Sorry
11. Room (red wings)
12. Ghost

Pre-order My Soft Machine.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage