Anvil Prep 'Hope in Hell'

Anvil Prep 'Hope in Hell'
Anvil haven't squandered the success they achieved in the wake of their awesomely entertaining documentary, Anvil! The Story of Anvil. Following a reissue campaign, the Canadian metal survivors have announced their 15th studio album, Hope in Hell. It's due out on May 28 though the End Records.

This is the first album to feature new Anvil bassist Sal Italiano, who joined the group a year ago. It was recorded at NRG Recording Studios in North Hollywood, CA, with returning producer Bob Marlette (Black Sabbath, Alice Cooper), who also helmed 2011's Juggernaut of Justice.

According to a press release, the album finds the band sticking to their classic metal sound while also venturing into rock'n'roll on the aptly titled "Badass Rock'n'Roll," '70s-oriented classic rock on "Time Shows No Mercy," and a mechanical style on "Mankind Machine."

Anvil frontman Steve "Lips" Kudlow said in a statement, "What we do is totally timeless. We've never tried to change our sound or experiment with trends and fashions. We live in our own world and have maintained our individuality and own identity."

He further explained, "Hope in Hell sounds like Anvil live on stage: natural, honest, unvarnished, never over-produced and straight from the heart."

Hope in Hell will be available as a limited-edition digipak with bonus cuts or in standard CD, vinyl or digital formats. See the tracklist below, and scroll past that to watch a European teaser video that includes a brief snippet of new music.

The album is available to pre-order right here.

Hope in Hell:

1. Hope in Hell
2. Eat Your Words
3. Through with You
4. The Fight Is Never Won
5. Pay the Toll
6. Flying
7. Call of Duty
8. Badass Rock'n'Roll
9. Time Shows No Mercy
10. Mankind Machine
11. Shut the Fuck Up
12. Hard Wired (bonus track)
13. Fire at Will (bonus track)