Alex G Announces New Album 'God Save the Animals'

Watch a video for new single "Runner"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jun 21, 2022

After announcing plans to pay visits to Toronto and Montreal while on the road this fall, Alex G has returned with details of a new album to take on tour. He'll deliver God Save the Animals on September 23 through Domino, and today he's previewing the effort with new single "Runner."

Accompanied by an easy-breezy music video directed by Aldo Fisk — standing in contrast to the record's previously released single "Blessing" — the video finds the artist born Alex Giannascoli joined by pastel-clad bandmates Sam Acchione, Molly Germer, John Heywood and Tom Kelly, as they power through the oscillating tune, which is less reflective of the singer-songwriter's weirder tendencies and more reminiscent of his laid-back material. 

The larger body of work — co-produced by Jacob Portrait — is said to find Giannascoli "filtering his experiences through fact and fiction," and delving further into collaborative work, having reached out to a roster of Philadelphia-based studios to help him achieve the "best" quality recordings.

God Save the Animals marks the musician's follow-up to 2019's House of Sugar, which was released under his (Sandy) Alex G moniker prior to reverting back to Alex G in 2020. This year, the artist officially released his score for 2021's We're All Going to the World's Fair.

Watch Giannascoli and his bandmates chug through "Runner" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting.

God Save the Animals:

1. After All
2. Runner
3. Mission
4. S.D.O.S.
5. No Bitterness
6. Ain't It Easy
7. Cross the Sea
8. Blessing
9. Early Morning Waiting
10. Immunity
11. Headroom Piano
12. Miracles
13. Forgive

Latest Coverage