Alan Doyle Details New Album 'Welcome Home,' Shares "Yours and Mine"

Produced by Marcus Paquin, the LP features contributions from Jimmy Rankin, Donovan Woods and Oscar Isaac

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jan 12, 2024

Canadian music lifer Alan Doyle has announced the details of his sixth solo album (and 20th studio record of his career, many recorded in his years with Great Big Sea), previewed today by new single "Yours and Mine."

Welcome Home lands on our doorstep on February 9. It follows 2020's Rough Side Out, as well as the 2022 live album Here, Tonight.

Recorded in Montreal with producer/engineer Marcus Paquin, Doyle recruited an A-team of co-writers featuring Donovan Woods, actor Oscar Isaac and one of Doyle's songwriting heroes, East Coast legend Jimmy Rankin. Together, they compiled nine songs to create the singer-songwriter's most understated, personal release to date.

"I have always struggled with the middle ground," Doyle admitted in a press release. "I love playing live so much and I have been rightly accused of writing songs more for concerts than albums. Most people who come to my shows want that kind of night out. So, I have overlooked the lower and slower: the lower part of my vocal range and the slower songs. I'm letting myself do that for the first time on this record."

Penned with Rankin, new single "Yours and Mine" makes for a mutedly jubilant album opener that thoughtfully tones down Doyle's standard Celtic trappings — but don't worry, they're still present — in favour of gleaming piano and acoustic strums. Give it a listen below, where you can also find the album tracklist.

Welcome Home:

1. Yours and Mine
2. Welcome Home
3. You'll Still Be with Me
4. Dancing Like We Did Last Night
5. Hard Old Hands
6. Long Night
7. How Did We Get from Saying I Love You
8. Best I Never Had
9. All for a Song

Pre-order Welcome Home.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage