The Waterboys Announce 'Modern Blues,' Share New Track

The Waterboys Announce 'Modern Blues,' Share New Track
Last year, veteran songwriter Mike Scott brought his celtic rock band the Waterboys across North America with a lineup of American musicians. Now, the Dublin-based songwriter is continuing his love affair with our continent on his new Waterboys album, Modern Blues.

Due out on January 20 on Kobalt, the album was made in Nashville. Along with core members of the Waterboys, players include Memphis keyboardist "Brother" Paul Brown and veteran Alabama bassist David Hood. Scott produced the album himself, and it was mixed by Bob Clearmountain (Bruce Springsteen, the Rolling Stones).

The songs were captured live off the floor, and a press release describes the result as "an electric, eclectic, soulful, bold and gloriously freewheeling rock'n'roll record." For a taste of this, check out a lyric video for the crunchy opening cut "Destinies Entwined" at the bottom of this page, below the tracklist.

Regarding the decision to record in Nashville, Scott said in a statement, "Nashville has a reputation as Music City, USA, and I fancied some of that. It's one of the few cities that still has a recording studio industry intact, which brings the spur of competition. I know that across town Jack White's making a record, the Black Keys are making theirs. I like that competitive feeling, it's exciting. It's a spur."

The album can be pre-ordered here.

Modern Blues:

1. Destinies Entwined
2. November Tale
3. Still a Freak
4. I Can See Elvis
5. The Girl Who Slept for Scotland
6. Rosalind You Married the Wrong Girl
7. Beautiful Now
8. Nearest Thing to Hip
9. Long Strange Golden Road