Vivek Shraya Details Debut Album 'Baby, You're Projecting'

The LP arrives in May alongside a 12-minute companion film

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Feb 21, 2023

Vivek Shraya has detailed her Mint Records debut. After teasing its arrival days into 2023, the multidisciplinary artist will share Baby, You're Projecting via the label on May 12.

Following Shraya's 2017 album Part Time Woman, the 11-track Baby, You're Projecting is described as a breakup album exploring the artist's tenuous relationships with men.

Shraya co-wrote the album with frequent collaborator and producer James Bunton (Donovan Woods, Ohbijou), aiming to create a genre-fluid LP inspired by acclaimed female-fronted pop records including Beyoncé's Lemonade, Janet Jackson's Janet. and Sheryl Crow's 1996 self-titled.

The result — reportedly encompassing everything from house, to hip-hop to country — is said to be a record bound by Shraya's singular voice and songwriting. Single "Good Luck (You're Fucked)" arrived earlier this month, and you can revisit it here.

Baby, You're Projecting will also see release alongside a 12-minute film titled He Loves Me Until He Hates Me, set to songs from Shraya's album and taking its title from the fourth track. Directed by Gabriela Osio Vanden, the film examines the unpredictability of masculinity.
Pre-order Baby, You're Projecting.

Baby, You're Projecting

1. Quitter
2. Sinister Sister
3. Baby, You're Projecting
4. He Loves Me Until He Hates Me
5. I Miss My Friends
6. He Doesn't Listen to Me
7. Hate Club
8. Good Luck (You're Fucked)
9. Colonizer
10. I Have to Forgive Myself
11. Cut Me Out

Latest Coverage