Metal Supergroup Umbra Vitae Detail Sophomore Album 'Light of Death'

Take in the thrash-minded "Belief Is Obsolete" before the album's June arrival

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Apr 2, 2024

Umbra Vitae — the metal supergroup featuring members of Converge, the Red Chord, Job for a Cowboy and Twitching Tongues — have unveiled their second LP. The incredibly heavy outfit will share Light of Death on June 7 via Deathwish Inc.

Following 2020 debut Shadow of Life, the 15-track Light of Death is said to find the five-piece smashing and thrashing everything in sight. It's a point driven home by first single "Belief Is Obsolete," which you can bang your head to in the player below.

"Musically, 'Belief Is Obsolete' is signature Sean Martin Bay Area Thrash worship," vocalist Jacob Bannon shares. "The performances from all of us on this one are completely redlined from beginning to end. Lyrically I explore the idea that 'belief' in the traditional sense is obsolete in the modern age we live in. It is abused as a shield and weapon socially, politically, and spiritually, ultimately becoming a burden for all."

Light of Death was recorded by Kurt Ballou and Zach Weeks at God City Studios, and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege.

Pre-order Light of Death.


Light of Death:

1. Leave of Absence
2. Belief Is Obsolete
3. Clear Cutter
4. Anti-Spirit Machine
5. Reality in Retrograde
6. Past Tense
7. Velvet Black
8. Twenty-Twenty Vision
9. Algorithm of Fear
10. Empty Vessel
11. Cause & Effect
12. Deep End
13. Nature vs. Nurture
14. Fatal Flaw
15. Light of Death

Latest Coverage