Tycho Preps 'Weather' Companion Album 'Simulcast'

Listen to his fresh single "Outer Sunset"
Tycho Preps 'Weather' Companion Album 'Simulcast'
Grammy-nominated artist Tycho — the downtempo electronic project led by Scott Hansen — has announced plans for a follow-up record to 2019's Weather and Stress EP with a new full-length titled Simulcast. However, it's not an entirely new studio effort from Tycho, but rather a "reimagining" of Weather and "an expansive all-new instrumental companion recording."

Simulcast will arrive on February 28 from Ninja Tune/Mom + Pop. Speaking of the upcoming record, Hansen offered the following statement:

A Simulcast is the transmission of a program across different mediums and in different languages. With these two albums I wanted to present the same ideas in two languages, one more literal and the other more open to interpretation. Simulcast expands on the concepts laid out in Weather but shifts into the abstract with instrumental soundscapes in place of lyrics, opening up a visual space and translating the message into a new language.

Weather was released less than a year ago, and it was the first of Hansen's work to feature a vocalist.

Today Hansen also shared the album's lead single "Outer Sunset," named after a beach community in San Francisco where Hansen recorded the bulk of the album. You can check that out alongside some soothing visuals below.

Check out Hansen's upcoming tour dates over at his website, and pre-order the album here.


1. Weather
2. Alright
3. Outer Sunset
4. Into The Woods
5. Easy
6. PCH
7. Cypress
8. Stress