Toronto's Motorists Announce Debut Album 'Surrounded'

Listen to their new single "Through to You"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jul 8, 2021

Toronto's Motorists — a.k.a. the jangle-pop trio of Craig Fahner, Matt Learoyd and Jesse Locke — have announced plans for the debut LP Surrounded. The album will arrive on September 3 through We Are Time/Bobo Integral/Debt Offensive.

Previewing the new material, today the group share their lockdown-written single, "Through to You," which arrives alongside its own Michelle Lemay-directed video inspired by the German TV show, Beat Club.

"It's an unabashedly nostalgic song, both musically and lyrically," guitarist/vocalist Craig Fahner, who co-directed the song's visuals, explained of the track.

"It's about teenage love, fucking around in the summertime, and most of all, the joy of finding a shared language beyond words to connect with the people around you – a language that operates outside of the rigidity of everyday life," he added.

Watch the video for "Through to You" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting.


1. Surrounded
2. Vainglorious
3. Hidden Hands
4. Latent Space
5. Through to You
6. New Day
7. Go Back
8. Natural Targets
9. Walled Garden
10. Turn It Around
11. Blood from the Stone
12. The Door

Pre-order Surrounded.

Latest Coverage