Throwing Muses Detail Their First New Album in Nearly a Decade

Hear "Dark Blue" from the upcoming 'Sun Racket'
Throwing Muses Detail Their First New Album in Nearly a Decade
After some teasing, Throwing Muses have pulled back the curtain on their new album Sun Racket. The record — the band's first in seven years — will arrive May 22 via Fire Records, and you can get an idea what to expect with the newly shared track "Dark Blue."

"All it asked of us was to commingle two completely disparate sonic vocabularies: one heavy noise, the other delicate music box," Throwing Muses leaser Kristin Hersh said in a statement. "Turns out we didn't have to do much. Sun Racket knew what it was doing and pushed us aside, which is always best. After 30 years of playing together, we trust each other implicitly but we trust the music more."

Hear how that plays out for yourself by streaming "Dark Blue" down below.

Sun Racket marks the band's first full-length since 2013's Purgatory/Paradise and serves as Throwing Muses' 10th album overall.

In addition to the new album, Hersh is also working on a new memoir called Live Donuts, Bait, which will arrive via UT Press.

You can now pre-order Sun Racket.

Sun Racket:

1. Dark Blue

2. Bywater

3. Maria Laguna

4. Bo Diddley Bridge

5. Milk at McDonald's

6. Upstairs Dan

7. St. Charles

8. Frosting

9. Kay Catherine

10. Sue's