The Dirty Nil Announce New Album 'Free Rein to Passions'

Watch a new music video for lead single "Nicer Guy"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Apr 14, 2023

Ontario rockers the Dirty Nil have announced plans for their fourth studio album Free Rein to Passions. It's out May 26 through Dine Alone Records.

It's the follow-up to 2021's Fuck Art, and the band's first record since Sam Tomlinson joined the band following the departure of former bassist Ross Miller.

"Fuck Art had a lot of singing on it. There were not a lot of parts where you could just jam out on riffs," vocalist Luke Bentham explained in a statement. "Free Rein to Passions is a bit of a nastier record where we didn't sweat the small insignificant details. If it sounded cool, we went with it."

Today, we get our first sneak peek of the album with lead single "Nicer Guy," which arrives alongside a live, laugh, love music video by the band's frequent collaborator Mitch Barnes.

"I'd been sitting on some of the guitar parts for a long time, husbanding them for a suitably righteous song," Bentham shared of the track.

"In the depths of lockdown, I dusted them off and came up with the words," he continued. "It was a happy day in an otherwise lonely time. Special shoutout to Kyle [Fisher]'s extremely tight playing and Sam's stampeding elephant bass. Sincerity can feel uncomfortable, but this one feels right."

The band are gearing up for a tour with Daniel Romano's Outfit this summer. Check out their full North American schedule here

Watch the video for "Nicer Guy" below, where you can also peep the Free Rein to Passions tracklist.

Free Rein to Passions:

1. Celebration
2. Nicer Guy
3. Undefeated
4. Atomize Me
5. Land of Clover
6. Blowing Up Things in the Woods
7. Stupid Jobs
8. 1990
9. Free Rein to Passions
10. The Light the Void and Everything

Latest Coverage