Snowday Announce 'As We Travel' Debut, Share New Track

Snowday Announce 'As We Travel' Debut, Share New Track
Self-described "chill-out electronic duo" Snowday lived up to their billing on their recent single, "The Seventh String," and now the Toronto-based pair have announced their debut album. As We Travel will be out on November 25.

Although the band's style is primarily electronic, a press release notes that Cam Sloan and Chad Skinner began making music as Snowday when they purchased a ukulele and other small acoustic instruments while travelling in Europe. The pair are fond of recording instruments to make their own samples, resulting in a sound that incorporates organic textures into computerized arrangements.

Most of the album is instrumental, with sonic touchstones including Brian Eno, Bonobo, Tycho and Steve Reich. There are also a couple of guest vocalists. At the bottom of this page, hear the gently burbling synth cut "Walk Along These Rocks with Me," plus the previously unveiled "The Seventh String."

Also below, see Snowday's tour schedule. Their live shows feature drummer Tait Roswell, who apparently gives the music a more upbeat sound.

As We Travel:

1. The Seventh String
2. A Quiet Winter featuring Kaleigh Watts
3. Walk Along These Rocks With Me
4. Alaskan Cabins
5. A Lone Stone
6. Eventual
7. Days We Spent Apart
8. Regeneration featuring Sammy Jackson
9. All in Due Time

Tour dates:

11/28 Toronto, ON - Monarch Tavern *
11/29 Ottawa, ON - Mugshots *^
11/30 Montreal, QC - Club Balattou *

* with Loopsy Dazy
^ with Modern Dinosaurs