Prince Josh Announces New Album 'Moth,' Shares Lead Single

Listen to new track "The Glory"

BY Emilie Richardson-DupuisPublished Jun 14, 2023

Toronto's Josh McIntyre — a.k.a. Prince Josh — has announced a new album Moth, out August 25 via Hand Drawn Dracula

Best known as one half of the electronic duo Prince Innocence, Prince Josh released his debut solo album The Joy in 2020. The follow-up will be a stylistic pivot away from his signature lo-fi, hazy dance music to a more three-dimensional and crisp sound based on early trip-hop.

Along with the album announcement, McIntyre has shared "The Glory," which showcases his new technique involving writing full-length songs to cut apart and repurpose in many different iterations.

McIntyre said in a statement: "The original concept for the album was to make songs with the intention of resampling them to create new work. 'The Glory' is the original version of 'The Glory (Reprise).' Both tracks feature the same vocal, however one version is pitched and chopped and the other is the original phrasing. Instead of creating small sections of music to sample, I wanted to make full songs to create a library of sounds to work with. Sections of 'The Glory' appear throughout the album."

For Moth, McIntyre teamed up with producers Jim Anderson (Moby, Massive Attack) and Joel Ford (Oneohtrix Point Never, Jacques Greene, Com Truise).

Check out the full tracklist and listen to "The Glory" below.


1. Moth
2. Close to You
3. The Glory
4. Bring the Beat Back
5. Wax
6. The Glory (Reprise)
7. Low
8. Dream Story
9. Now It's Okay

Latest Coverage