Pelican Revisit "The Cliff" With Justin K. Broadrick, Allen Epley for New EP

Pelican Revisit 'The Cliff' With Justin K. Broadrick, Allen Epley for New EP
Chicago instru-metal unit Pelican have announced that their Forever Becoming cut "The Cliff" will be given the deluxe treatment on a new EP re-envisioning it with vocals and remixed soundscapes.

A press release explains that the four-song EP, due February 24 on 12-inch and digitally through Southern Lord, kicks off with a vocal version of "The Cliff" featuring familiar Pelican collaborator Allen Epley (Shiner, the Life and Times). This is only the second time Pelican have featured vocals on a track in their 14-year career. Epley was last heard singing with the group on "Final Breath" from 2009's What We All Come to Need. You can stream the latest groove-heavy tag-team via the player down below.

Offering different sonic visions of the track are Godflesh member Justin K. Broadrick, as well Aaron Harris and Bryant Clifford Meyer of Isis/Palms fame.

Following the three alternate versions of "The Cliff," Pelican cap the EP with a new tune called "The Wait," which is described as "a contemplative semi-acoustic simmer that builds to an explosion of cathartic distortion and melody." Drums were tracked by Harris, while Corrections House's Sanford Parker handled the rest of the recording.

The Cliff:

1. The Cliff (Vocal Version)
2. The Cliff (Justin K. Broadrick remix)
3. The Cliff (AH & BCM remix)
4. The Wait