Metronomy Announce New Album 'Small World,' Share New Song

The band's seventh full-length record is arriving February 18

BY Kaelen BellPublished Oct 27, 2021

Metronomy have announced their seventh full-length album, Small World, arriving February 18 on Because Music. Along with the announcement, the band have shared the record's bouncy lead single "It's good to be back," which comes attached to a video courtesy of Dreamjob. 

In a press release, Small World is described as "a return to simple pleasures, nature, and an embracing in part of more pared-down, songwriterly sonics, all while asking broader existential questions: which feels at least somewhat rooted in the period of time during which it was made – 2020."

According to vocalist Joseph Mount, first single "It's good to be back" gets its name because, "Part of me was thinking, 'what is the lamest platitude people are going to be saying coming out of the past two years?', but at the same time, I was thinking how it will be true and how it might feel doing things again."
He added: "I've been remembering what it was like as a kid when I'd be sitting in the backseat of my parents' car and they'd be playing their music and I'd think 'this is awful', but there'd be one or two songs I would like. I thought it would be fun to make that kind of album, and this is the song the kids might like. This is the 'cool' song."

Small World comes on the heels of this year's surprise-released Posse EP Volume 1, which featured collaborations with Biig Piig, Pinty, spill tab, SORRY and Brian Nasty and Folly Group. 

Metronomy's last full-length record was 2019's Metronomy Forever. Check out the video for "It's good to be back" and Small World's tracklist below. 

Small World:

1. Life and Death
2. Things will be fine
3. It's good to be back
4. Loneliness on the run
5. Love Factory
6. I lost my mind
7. Right on time
8. Hold me tonight
9. I have seen enough

Pre-order Small World.

Latest Coverage