Mastodon Unveil Rarities Album, Share New Song "Fallen Torches"

Get ready for some 'Medium Rarities'
Mastodon Unveil Rarities Album, Share New Song 'Fallen Torches'
Following some teasing, we now know exactly what Mastodon are up to. In honour of their 20th anniversary, the band are dropping a new rarities comp on us. Titled Medium Rarities, it arrives on September 11 via Reprise. Right now, though, you can hear the new song "Fallen Torches."

The newly shared track was recorded in 2019, and Mastodon explained the following of the song:

"Fallen Torches" is an unreleased track from Mastodon that will appear on Medium Rarities — a collection of rare tracks released digitally for the first time. This classic Mastodon track was recorded in Atlanta in 2019, originally planned to be released in support of a European tour, the track was delayed so the band could focus on the release of Stairway to Nick John, a tribute to their late, long time manager Nick John, with proceeds going to the Hirshberg Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research in his honour. "Fallen Torches" is written by Mastodon and features guest vocals by longtime friend and collaborator Scott Kelly from the band Neurosis.

Check out "Fallen Torches" for yourself below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.

Among the other songs on Medium Rarities are previously released covers, soundtrack contributions, instrumental, B-sides and live recordings. There's also another new entirely song: "Rufus Lives," which will appear on the upcoming Bill & Ted Face the Music and its accompanying soundtrack. The film itself is set to arrive on September 1, but so far no further details of the OST have been revealed.

Mastodon's last studio album was 2017's Emperor of Sand.

Medium Rarities:

1. Fallen Torches

2. A Commotion

3. Asleep in the Deep (Instrumental)

4. Capillarian Crest (Live)

5. A Spoonful Weighs a Ton

6. Toe to Toes (Instrumental)

7. Circle of Cysquatch (Live)

8. Atlanta (ft. Gibby Haynes)

9. Jaguar God (Instrumental)

10. Cut You Up With a Linoluem Knife

11. Blood & Thunder (Live)

12. White Walker

13. Halloween (Instrumental)

14. Crystal Skull (Live)

15. Orion

16. Iron Tusk (Live)

Pre-order Medium Rarities.