Marissa Nadler Reveals New Album

Marissa Nadler Reveals New Album
Folksy Boston songwriter Marissa Nadler's new album may be called July, but it will be coming out in the dead of winter. The record will arrive on February 4 via her new label home of Sacred Bones Records, with the UK release following on February 11 via Bella Union.

The album was recorded with producer Randall Dunn (Black Mountain, the Cave Singers) at Seattle's Avast Studio. It features former Whiskeytown guitarist Phil Wandscher, Zombi synth master Steve Moore and string-playing composer Eyvind Kang, all of whom reportedly help to create a multi-faceted sonic palette.

According to a press release, "The world of Nadler's July, is one where you're likely to find the Boston-based singer and songwriter 'holed up at the Holiday Inn' watching crime TV or leaving her instruments to freeze in the car. These settings, details, and themes are brand-new to Nadler's canon, and they paint a far more realistic version of her life than her previous records."

The album cover is above and the tracklist below. Scroll to the bottom of the page to hear the eerie cut "Dead City Emily."

Learn more about July by reading our recent interview with Nadler here.


1. Drive

2. 1923

3. Firecrackers

4. We Are Coming Back

5. Dead City Emily

6. Was It a Dream

7. I've Got Your Name

8. Desire

9. Anyone Else

10. Holiday In

11. Nothing in My Heart