John Frusciante Announces New Album 'Maya'

The LP arrives through Venetian Snares' Timesig label in October
John Frusciante Announces New Album 'Maya'
In recent years, John Frusciante has kept the bulk of his electronic music-making to his Trickfinger alias, including June's She Smiles Because She Presses the Button. Now, the Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist will release a new full-length of that instrumental material under his own name.

Frusciante will deliver new album Maya on October 23 through Venetian Snares' Timesig label. The nine-song set is dedicated to his cat, Maya, who recently passed away. 

"Maya was with me as I made music for 15 years, so I wanted to name it after her," Frusciante shared of his late furry friend in a statement. "She loved music, and with such a personal title, it didn't seem right to call myself Trickfinger, somehow, so it's by John Frusciante."

Musically, Maya is said to find Frusciante offering his take on early '90s U.K. breakbeat hardcore and jungle; an entirely instrumental collection of "authentic production balanced against [Frusciante's] acute sense of melody." 

"I don't have that interest in singing or writing lyrics like I used to," he explained. "The natural thing when I'm by myself now, is to just make music like the stuff being released this year. I really love the back and forth with machines and the computer."

"Amethblowl" is the first song from the album to arrive, and you can hear it below.

Frusciante and Venetian Snares mastermind Aaron Funk previously came together for an EP as Speed Dealer Moms in 2010. The guitarist also shared electronic music under his own name with 2016's Foregrow EP.

In January, Red Hot Chili Peppers revealed that they were at work on a new album.


1. Brand E
2. Usbrup Pensul
3. Flying
4. Pleasure Explanation
5. Blind Aim
6. Reach Out
7. Amethblowl
8. Zillion
9. Anja Motherless

Pre-order Maya.