​Jim James Announces 'Tribute To 2' Album, Shares Beach Boys Cover

​Jim James Announces 'Tribute To 2' Album, Shares Beach Boys Cover
Before Jim James released solo albums Regions of Light and Sound of God and Eternally Even, the My Morning Jacket frontman shared his own spin on classic tunes for a 2009 covers EP titled Tribute To. Now, he's announced plans for a follow-up.
Tribute To 2 is due out on December 8 via ATO Records. That same day, the original Tribute To EP will also get reissued.
The new compilation features fresh renditions of tracks by the likes of Sonny & Cher, Willie Nelson and Bob Dylan. The first audio sample arrives with James' take on the Beach Boys classic "I Just Wasn't Made for These Times," which also serves as the album opener. Scroll past the album's complete tracklisting to give it a listen down below.
As for the Tribute To reissue, it features one additional bonus song to accompany the six existing George Harrison covers — a version of Bob Dylan's "If Not for You."
Of course, James is no stranger to covers. In addition to the first volume of Tribute To, he's also appeared on compilations honouring the Grateful Dead and Brandi Carlile.
Tribute To 2:
1. I Just Wasn't Made for These Times (The Beach Boys)
2. Baby Don't Go (Sonny & Cher)
3. Wild Honey (Diane Izzo)
4. Midnight, the Stars and You (Ray Noble & Al Bowlly)
5. Crying in the Chapel (The Orioles)
6. Funny How Time Slips Away (Willie Nelson)
7. Love is the Sweetest Thing (Ray Noble & Al Bowlly)
8. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight (Bob Dylan)
9. Lucky Man (Emerson, Lake & Palmer)
10. The World is Falling Down (Abbey Lincoln)
11. Blue Skies (Irving Berlin)