Sunny War Signs to New West Records, Collaborates with Jim James, Allison Russell on 'Anarchist Gospel'

The Raconteurs' Jack Lawrence, David Rawlings, Micah Nelson, the Deslondes' John James Tourville, Kyshona Armstrong and more also contribute

BY Allie GregoryPublished Oct 26, 2022

Los Angeles-based folk musician Sunny War has announced her signing to New West Records, for which she will release new album Anarchist Gospel on February 3, 2023.

The 14-track album was produced by Andrija Tokic, with all songs written by the artist born Sydney Ward with the exception of "Baby Bitch" (Ween) and "Hopeless" (Van Hunt).

The record finds Ward teaming up with My Morning Jacket's Jim James, the Raconteurs' Jack Lawrence, Allison Russell, David Rawlings, Micah Nelson, the Deslondes' John James Tourville, Kyshona Armstrong, Dennis Crouch, the School Zone Children's Choir and more. Anarchist Gospel is said to traverse the worlds of gospel, country blues, folk and rock 'n' roll, with avant-garde studio experiments mixed in. 

"I feel like there are two sides of me. One of them is very self-destructive, and the other is trying to work with that other half to keep things balanced," Ward said in discussing the album, whose content examines a time when her self-destructive side almost took over.

She continued: "Everybody is a beast just trying their hardest to be good. That's what it is to be human. You're not really good or bad. You're just trying to stay in the middle of those two things all the time, and you're probably doing a shitty job of it. That's ok, because we're all just monsters."

Today, Ward delivers the album's lead single "No Reason" — about the "internal struggle that all people face just trying to be the best version of themselves. And the guilt that you feel when you're not being the best version of yourself." The track arrives alongside a video directed and edited by Joshua Britt and Neilson Hubbard.

Watch that below, where you can also find the album's tracklisting.

Anarchist Gospel:

1. Love's Death Bed
2. No Reason
3. Shelter and Storm
4. I Got No Fight
5. Swear to Gawd
6. Earth
7. New Day
8. Baby Bitch
9. His Love
10. Hopeless
11. Higher
12. Test Dummy
13. Sweet Nothing
14. Whole

Latest Coverage