Jean-Michel Blais Announces Expanded Vinyl Edition of 'Il'

Jean-Michel Blais Announces Expanded Vinyl Edition of 'Il'
After arriving earlier in the year on CD, digitally and as a stack of sheet music, Montreal piano player Jean-Michel Blais is having his delightful debut album Il issued on vinyl this fall. Better yet, the analogue edition comes with a pair of extra songs left off the original spring release.

Arts & Crafts has confirmed that a wax pressing of Il arrives October 7, with the collection of "enchanting instrumental compositions" now being augmented by two pieces not heard on digital or CD copies of the album. That said, at-home ivory ticklers that grabbed the sheet music may find "Ad Claritatem Domine" and "Pour Johanne" familiar, as they had been included on the instructional release. Additionally, an updated digital release will include the cuts.

You can pre-order the updated Il over here.

As previously reported, Il is Blais's first album and had been recorded at his apartment in Montreal using a Zoom recorder, with some songs captured in a single take. The collection had been included on the Polaris Music Prize long list, but did not make it to the short list.

Il also made Exclaim!'s list of "Top 27 Albums of 2016 So Far."

Il (deluxe edition):

1. Hasselblad 4 (Improvisation)
2. il
3. Dada
4. Nostos (ft. Bufflo)
5. Ad Claritatem Domine
6. Hasselblad 2 (Improvisation)
7. Budapest
8. Casa
9. Pour Johanne
10. Rondo majeur (3 mains)

Tour dates:

09/22 Montreal, QC - Federation Ukrainienne (Pop Montreal)
10/15 Quebec, QC – Palais Montcalm
11/19 Toronto, ON – Great Hall
12/02 Nicolet, QC – Theatre Belcourt