Here Are the Top 10 Prism Prize Nominees for 2023

Tanya Tagaq, PUP, Amanda Sum, Jean-Michel Blais, Snotty Nose Rez Kids have all made the cut

BY Emilie Richardson-DupuisPublished May 17, 2023

The annual Prism Prize, which recognizes Canadian music videos for their exceptional artistry, has announced its 10 finalists for 2023.

This year's finalists include Tanya Tagaq (with two nominations), Snotty Nose Rez Kids, Amanda Sum, Dan Mangan, MorMor, Jessie Reyez, Jean-Michel Blais, BAMBII and PUP. See the full list below.

The awards presentation will take place on July 6 in Toronto, where the grand-prize winner will be awarded $20,000. 

All Top 10 finalists (directors and producers) will also receive free memberships to the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, courtesy of Telefilm Canada, and will be enrolled in a fan-voted Audience Award, supported by Stingray, the winner of which will get $5,000. Members of the public can view the videos and vote here through June 15. 

The Prism Prize also grants a class of special awards annually — the Hi-Fidelity Award, the Lipsett Award the Special Achievement Award and the Willie Dunn Award — recognizing recipients for their achievements and contributions to the music industry. These will be announced in the lead-up to the awards presentation. 

"Since the inception of the Prism Prize, Canadian music videos have continuously pushed the boundaries of artistic expression and have become an important vehicle to showcase the immense talent and diversity in our country's music scene," said Louis Calabro, Prism Prize founder. "Through their creativity and innovation, the Top 10 videos are not only entertaining but serve as inspiration for other emerging artists to challenge themselves and explore the endless possibilities of music video production."

Last year's grand prize was awarded to Mustafa for his "Ali" music video.

The 2023 Prism Prize Top 10:

Tanya Tagaq - "Colonizer" (Directors: Leah Fay Goldstein & Peter Dreimanis)
Snotty Nose Rez Kids - "Damn Right" (Director: Sterling Larose)
Amanda Sum - "Different Than Before" (Director: Mayumi Yoshida)
Dan Mangan - "Fire Escape" (Director: Lester Lyons-Hookham) 
MorMor - "Here It Goes Again" (Director: Adrian Villagomez) 
Jessie Reyez - "Mutual Friend" (Director: Peter Huang)
Jean-Michel Blais - "Passepied" (Director: Adrian Villagomez) 
BAMBII - "Ride with Me" (Directors: Kit Weyman & BAMBII) 
Tanya Tagaq - "Teeth Agape" (Director: David Seitz) 
PUP - "Totally Fine" (Director: Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux)


Latest Coverage