The Beaches, City and Colour Win Big at Jim Beam INDIE Awards

Exclaim!'s latest cover stars and Dallas Green's project took home three awards each

Photo: Grant W. Martin

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jun 7, 2024

The 23rd annual Jim Beam INDIE Awards took place at Toronto's Danforth Music Hall last night (June 6) amid this year's Canadian Music Week festivities. New Exclaim! cover stars the Beaches dominated the night alongside City and Colour, with the quartet and Dallas Green's solo project taking home three awards each.

The Beaches were awarded the Group or Duo and Rock Artist/Group or Duo of the Year awards, as well as Song of the Year for "Blame Brett." City and Colour was named both Artist of the Year and the inaugural Fan Choice, in addition to winning Folk/Roots Artist of the Year.

Punjabi-wave innovator Karan Aujla took home Album of the Year for Making Memories and Video of the Year for "Admirin' You," while his collaborator Ikky was named Producer of the Year. Both Charlottes (Cardin and Day Wilson) were also winners — as well as Elisapie, who is the face of a new Canada Post stamp.

See the full list of winners and nominees below.

Album of the Year

The Love Still Held Me Near, City and Colour
99 Nights, Charlotte Cardin
Making Memories, Karan Aujla
Formentera II, Metric
Blame My Ex, the Beaches

Artist of the Year

Allison Russell
AP Dhillon
City and Colour
Connor Price
Karan Aujla

Country Artist/Group or Duo of the Year

Brett Kissel
MacKenzie Porter
High Valley
Tim Hicks

Electronic/Dance Artist/Group or Duo of the Year

Keys N Krates 
Loud Luxury 
Zeds Dead

Francophone Artist/Group or Duo of the Year

Jean-Michel Blais

Group or Duo of the Year

Loud Luxury
Walk Off the Earth
Sam Roberts Band 
The Beaches

Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year

Connor Price 
Da Crook
Haviah Mighty

Indigenous Artist/Group or Duo of the Year

DJ Shub
Scream, Holler & Howl
Shawnee Kish

Pop Artist/Group or Duo of the Year

Charlotte Cardin
Elijah Woods
Good Kid 
Men I Trust 
Shawn Desman

R&B Artist/Group or Duo of the Year

Charlotte Day Wilson
Jon Vinyl
Rhyan Douglas

Rock Artist/Group or Duo of the Year

Finger Eleven
Simple Plan
The Beaches
The Glorious Sons

Roots/Folk Artist of the Year

Allison Russell
Andy Shauf
City and Colour 
Julian Taylor
William Prince

Song of the Year

"The Returner," Allison Russell
"Somebody Else," Aysanabee
"Confetti," Charlotte Cardin
"Hotter Now," LU KALA
"Blame Brett," the Beaches

Video of the Year

"With You," AP Dhillon
"Confetti," Charlotte Cardin
"Trendsetter," Connor Price & Haviah Mighty
"Demons," Allison Russell
"Admirin' You," Karan Aujla

Independent Label of the Year

604 Records
Arts & Crafts
Cult Nation 
Dine Alone Records 

Producer of the Year

Hill Kourkoutis
Lowell & Gus Van Go
Shawn Everett

Publisher of the Year

Arts & Crafts Music
High Priestess Publishing

Fan Choice Award

Allison Russell
AP Dhillon
Charlotte Cardin
Charlotte Day Wilson
City and Colour
Connor Price
Haviah Mighty
Karan Aujla
Loud Luxury
The Beaches
Tim Hicks

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage