​Iggy Pop Announces New Album 'Free'

Stream the title track now
​Iggy Pop Announces New Album 'Free'
Iggy Pop hasn't retired to a life of Funko Pop stardom just yet — in fact, the punk legend has just announced a new album titled Free. It's due out September 6 via Loma Vista.
The album marks Iggy Pop's first since 2016's Post Pop Depression, and it was recorded with Leron Thomas and Noveller.
The resulting sound is slower and more sombre than one might expect, and it captures Iggy Pop in the midst of post-tour burnout.
In a statement about the album, he said:
This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice…
By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long.
But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that's an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need — not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free.
So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.
See the full tracklisting for Free below. You can also stream the opening song and title track "Free" beyond that.
1. Free
2. Loves Missing
3. Sonali
4. James Bond
5. Dirty Sanchez
6. Glow In The Dark
7. Page
8. We Are The People
9. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night
10. The Dawn