​The Hidden Cameras Get Feist, Neil Tennant, Ron Sexsmith, Rufus Wainwright for Canadiana 'Home on Native Land' LP

​The Hidden Cameras Get Feist, Neil Tennant, Ron Sexsmith, Rufus Wainwright for Canadiana 'Home on Native Land' LP
Photo: Jeff Harris
The Hidden Cameras last released a full-length album with Age in 2014, and at the time, band leader Joel Gibb hinted that more music was in the works. Well, hopeful fans are in luck, a new record is ready and will be released this fall through Outside Music.
Aptly titled Home on Native Land, the new record conveys Gibb's own interpretation of country music and a romanticized take on Canadiana. Speaking to Exclaim!, he jokes that this is the album that "has taken longer to make than Chinese Democracy," as work on it began as far back as during the sessions for 2006's Awoo, with Gibb steadily chipping away at it while Origin:Orphan and Age saw releases.
No stranger to an abundance of creative collaborators, the singer-songwriter enlisted a number of high-profile guests for the upcoming album under the Hidden Cameras banner. He describes it as "a document of the music scene in Toronto since there are so many different musicians playing and singing throughout."
Feist, Mary Margaret O'Hara, Ron Sexsmith, Bahamas, Rufus Wainwright and Pet Shop Boys' Neil Tennant are amongst those who make guest appearances on the album, and the majority of it was recorded by longtime collaborator Don Kerr.

For a taste of the album, you can listen to the lead-off track "Day I Left Home."
A special return to the live stage is also in the works, with the Hidden Cameras joining the bill for Peaches' show at Massey Hall on August 4. While we await the arrival of the latest album, peruse the tracklisting for Home on Native Land below.
Home on Native Land:
1. Day I Left Home
2. He Is the Boss of Me
3. Ode to an Ah (ft. Neil Tennant)
4. Dark End of the Street
5. You and Me Again
6. Don't Make Promises (ft. Ron Sexsmith)
7. Be What I Want
8. Counting Stars
9. The Great Reward
10. Drunk Dancer's Waltz
11. Big Blue
12. Log Driver's Waltz (ft. Rufus Wainwright, Feist, Mary Margaret O'Hara)
13. Had a Feeling 'Bout You
14. Twilight of the Season (ft. Ron Sexsmith)