Devo Announce '50 Years of De-Evolution 1973-2023' Box Set

The career-spanning collection remasters much of their catalogue

BY Sydney BrasilPublished Sep 6, 2023

It's been 50 years since Devo formed in 1973, and they're celebrating the occasion with a massive, career-spanning box set. 50 Years of De-Evolution 1972-2023 is set to arrive October 20 via Rhino. 

The collection will be available in 2CD, 2LP and a limited-edition, clear vinyl 4LP set limited to 3,000 copies. Said limited edition will also include a 28-page book, a Devo air freshener and a foldable paper energy dome. Pre-orders are available on Warner's website.

"This boxed set represents a great cross section of early experiments and later creations," Mark Mothersbaugh said via press release. "I was looking to create a new sound, a concept in art and music that represented a new way of thinking about life on planet Earth. With Devo, I think we did just that."

Mothersbaugh recently shared that Devo's upcoming tour will be their last, so if you want a lasting memory of the Ohio art punks, this box set is your chance — unless physical copies of their upcoming documentary are released.

Alongside the announcement, the band have shared a remastered version of "Disco Dancer (7-Inch Version)." Check that and the full tracklist of 50 Years of De-Evolution 1973-2023 below.

50 Years of De-Evolution 1973-2023

LP One:

Side One
1. Mongoloid – Warner Version
2. Jocko Homo – Warner Version
3. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
4. Come Back Jonee – Single Edit
5. Secret Agent Man
6. The Day My Baby Gave Me A Surprize

Side Two
1. Smart Patrol
2. Girl U Want
3. Whip It
4. Freedom Of Choice
5. Gates Of Steel
6. Working In The Coal Mine

LP Two:

Side One
1. Beautiful World
2. Jerkin' Back 'n' Forth
3. Through Being Cool
4. Love Without Anger
5. Time Out For Fun
6. Peek-a-Boo!
7. That's Good

Side Two
1. Big Mess
2. Here To Go – Go Mix Version
3. Are You Experienced?
4. Disco Dancer – 7 Version
5. Post Post-Modern Man – Macro Post-Modern Mix
6. Fresh

LP Three:

Side One
1. I'm A Potato – 1974 Demo
2. Mongoloid – Booji Boy Version
3. Jocko Homo – Booji Boy Version
4. Be Stiff – Stiff Version
5. Uncontrollable Urge
6. Gut Feeling / (Slap Your Mammy)

Side Two
1. Triumph Of The Will
2. Soo-Bawlz
3. It Takes A Worried Man
4. Snowball – Single Remix
5. Mr. B's Ballroom
6. Going Under
7. One Dumb Thing

LP Four:

Side One
1. Speed Racer
2. Theme From Doctor Detroit – Dance Mix
3. Shout
4. Puppet Boy
5. I Wouldn't Do That To You
6. Bread And Butter

Side Two
1. Let's Talk
2. Baby Doll – Devo Single Mix
3. Some Things Never Change
4. What We Do – Single Edit
5. No Place Like Home
6. Watch Us Work It

Latest Coverage