Deaf Wish Bring the 'Pain' on New Album for Sub Pop

Deaf Wish Bring the 'Pain' on New Album for Sub Pop
Noisy Australian indie rockers Deaf Wish are finally set to follow up last year's "St. Vincent's" 7-inch single with a full-length offering that's due out this summer. Pain will arrive on August 7 and marks the band's first LP for Sub Pop. Their last album was 2011's Mercy.
The new record hears the results of a band spending more time together than usual. After sort of settling down together in Melbourne, the band have crafted a collection of songs that showcases the group "at their mightiest, alive with the same wild chemistry and sense of possibility that made their first recordings so vital."
According to a press release, everything on the album was captured in three takes of less, in "a bleak, non-descript studio on the lifeless outskirts of Melbourne."
The recording of Pain took place in Reservoir, Victoria, with Mikey Young on mixing duties and April Golden on mastering.
In anticipation of the upcoming release, the band have offered up a new track. Titled "Eyes Closed," the tune is a raucous, noise-heavy number, and you can hear it below [via Stereogum]. Scroll past the tracklisting to give it a listen.
1. The Whip
2. Newness Again
3. They Know
4. Sunset's Fool
5. Eyes Closed
6. Pain
7. Sex Witch
8. On
9. Dead Air
10. Calypso