Clark Returns with 'Death Peak' LP

Clark Returns with 'Death Peak' LP
Though Clark's work has ranged from mixes to film scores since releasing his last self-titled LP in 2014, the producer has lifted the curtain on its long-awaited follow-up. Titled Death Peak, his new disc will arrive through Warp this April.

Nine tracks in length, Death Peak is said to weave together the various threads of Clark's extensive catalogue, "intertwining euphoric melodies and visceral rhythms of warehouse rave with newer vocal and choral elements." Though vocals have been rarely present in Clark's work, Death Peak features an element of human voice on each track.

"Nearly all the tracks have some form of vocal recording on them," he said in a statement. "I only realized this late in the recording process. I get hypnotized by the human voice — the most perfect synth."

He continued: "Vocals can be a bit of an awkward hat, that producers wear to try and get attention. Death Peak voices are the opposite of that. The vocal elements are just another instrument in the mix. It's taken me awhile to get to this level of confidence with it."

Clark also revealed he's had the title of the record set since August of last year:

I've had the title Death Peak since August 2016. It felt so right, I would repeat it to myself like a mantra. Death Peak Death Peak Death Peak. It starts gently, all meadows and butterflies and ends with you on top of this gnarly fearsome mountain peak, surveying a shattered landscape below

Death Peak will arrive through Warp on April 7. Read through the tracklist to hear "Peak Magnetic" in the player below.

Death Peak:

1. Spring But Dark
2. Butterfly Prowler
3. Peak Magnetic
4. Hoova
5. Slap Drones
6. Aftermath
7. Catastrophe Anthem
8. Living Fantasy
9. Un U.K.