Cibo Matto Announce First New Album in 15 Years, Premiere New Video

Cibo Matto Announce First New Album in 15 Years, Premiere New Video
It's been close to 15 years since Cibo Matto issued 1999's Stereo Type A, but the Japanese genre-jumpers are finally ready to release a follow-up. Titled Hotel Valentine, it will arrive on a most fitting due date of February 14 through Chimera Music.

  A press release notes that the project's Miho Hatori and Yuka C. Honda prepped the album over a two-year stretch, self-producing the record while roping in guest appearance from Wilco's Nels Cline and Glenn Kotche, Atoms for Peace's Mauro Refosco, Reggie Watts, and more. Hotel Valentine is also apparently a conceptual love story involving ghosts in a hotel.

"Yes, there is a ghost girl, a hotel, housekeeping ladies and things happen. But they are elusive in nature," Hatori explained in a statement.

Info on the new Cibo Matto LP began shaping up when the outfit announced a reunion tour in 2011, which came in the wake of a long hiatus. The group had premiered new tunes on the tour.

"Having spent some time apart, we became more aware of our magical chemistry, our magnetic bond. We both realized we had unfinished business," Hatori explained.

Honda added of getting back together with Hatori for the LP: "Hotel Valentine is the cinematic bricolage of Yuka and me. Our medium is music. For me, making an album is like raising a child. We don't know what kind of person (story) they will end up to be."

Down below you'll find the tracklisting for the LP, as well as the mondo bizarro neon collage of visuals collected in the GEORGIA-directed video for its Reggie Watts-featuring first single "MFN."

Hotel Valentine:

1. Check In

2. Deja Vu

3. 10th Fl.Ghost Girl

4. Emerald Tuesday

5. MFN

6. Hotel Valentine

7. Empty Pool

8. Lobby

9. Maid Song (House Keeping)

10. Check Out