Born Ruffians Serve Up Extra 'PULP' for New Album

Listen to the singles "Heat Wave" and "Husha" now
Born Ruffians Serve Up Extra 'PULP' for New Album
Born Ruffians released two albums in 2020, JUICE and SQUEEZE, and they're bringing their juicy journey to a close with PULP, due for release on April 16 via the band's own label, Wavy Haze, in Canada and Yep Roc elsewhere.

In a statement about the new album, the band said:

It would be short selling it to call PULP a collection of B-sides and rarities. Rather, it is a group of songs who have been patiently waiting their turn. "Happy Parasites" was at the top of the list when Born Ruffians entered the studio to record Uncle, Duke & the Chief in 2017 but it never made it into the sessions. "Husha" has been kicking around YouTube and various hard drives, a bootleg of sorts, for nearly ten years. "Heat Wave" is a head-bobbing, slow-burn banger that just needed a little more gestation time.

PULP, strained and separated for your convenience. You may now swirl them back into the eddying roil or consume each song independently. All we ask is you refrigerate after opening.

The band have also shared two of the album's tracks. "Heat Wave" is a relaxed rock track with twanging guitars and doo-wop vocals, while "Husha" is a slow-burner that puts Luke Lalonde's vocals and guitars on full display.

Listen to "Heat Wave" and "Husha" below, and keep scrolling for more information on the album.


1. Checkin' Out
2. Types of People
3. Heat Wave
4. Beyond the Lightning
5. Ring Finger
6. Husha
7. Happy Parasites

Pre-order PULP.