Aesop Rock and Tobacco Team Up as Malibu Ken for New Album

Watch the video for their "Acid King" now
Aesop Rock and Tobacco Team Up as Malibu Ken for New Album
Having toured with one another over a decade ago, Aesop Rock and Tobacco (of Black Moth Super Rainbow) have now announced plans to release a collaborative album early next year as Malibu Ken.

The 10-track self-titled release will arrive January 18 through Rhymesayers. Ahead of time, the pair have shared first single "Acid King," which arrives alongside a Rob Shaw-directed video you can watch below.

"Tobacco and I have thrown around the idea of doing a project together since we first toured over a decade ago," Aesop Rock explained in a statement. "I find his production to be something special, and always wanted to see what I could bring to it. We recently found time to record some songs, and Malibu Ken was born. I brought a few stories to the table, but also did my best to let the production dictate the subject matter throughout. We hope you like the soup."

Aesop Rock last delivered solo LP The Impossible Kid in 2016. Tobacco and Black Moth Super Rainbow released Panic Blooms earlier this year.

Malibu Ken:

1. Corn Maze
2. Tuesday
3. Save Our Ship
4. Sword Box
5. Dog Years
6. Acid King
7. Suicide Big Gulp
8. 1+1=13
9. Churro
10. Purple Moss