Winnipeg's Mulligrub Announce Sophomore Album 'Tragical,' Share New Single "Pink Donut"

The trio's new record arrives later this month

BY Kaelen BellPublished Jun 9, 2023

Winnipeg's Mulligrub — the twee-pop-punk project from Riley Hill, Kelly Campbell and Natalie Smith — have announced their second full-length album Tragical, arriving June 16 and previewed by new single "Pink Donut."

Tragical marks the trio's return after an unofficial hiatus between 2019 and 2022 and was written and recorded with former bassist Mirella Villa, who left the band following recording. In the wake of a lineup change and a global pandemic (heard of it?) Hill and Campbell decided to step away from Mulligrub and hold onto Tragical until now. 

With new bassist Natalie Smith on board, the band are ready to unveil their sophomore record, which features the previously released "Homebody" — an Exclaim! Staff Pick — and prickly new single "Pink Donut." 

In a statement about Tragical, the band wrote:

Together, this collection of songs forms a narrative of feeling anxious and unsure of oneself and the future, but pushing through those feelings in the hopes of finding something better on the other side anyways. The world may be burning up and flooding under water but we still have a lot — or at least each other — to live for.

Check out "Pink Donut," plus the Tragical tracklist below. 


1. Homebody 
2. Strange Air
3. Pink Donut 
4. Ex
5. Nerf
6. Octokite
7. Lil Fist
8. LML
9. Sun + Cloud
10. Spiff
11. Wing Dings

Pre-order Tragical.

Latest Coverage