Willow Smith Releases Surprise Album

Willow Smith Releases Surprise Album
Earlier this month, Willow Smith mysteriously tweeted out the date "Dec 11th." Now that the day is here, the secret has been revealed: she just released her album Ardipithecus through Roc Nation Records.

Willow Smith is, of course, the 15-year-old daughter of Will Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith. A few years back, she scored a hit with "Whip My Hair," and Ardipithecus is her her first full-length.

The 15-song tracklist includes the recent single "Why Don't You Cry," plus a tune called "F Q–C #8" that is a follow-up to the earlier track "F Q–C #7." There's also some millennial internet slang, since track titles include "IDK" and "UR Town."

The word "Ardipithecus" comes from one of human's ape ancestors, and that fits with the March of Progress-alluding album cover (above). Smith explained the title with the following statement to the Fader:

Ardipithecus Ramidus is the scientific name of the first hominid bones found on earth. I wanted to name my musical compilation after it because, while I was making these songs I was in such a transitional state. Digging deep in the soil of my heart and finding bits and pieces of my ancient self that tell stories, which end up being the lyrics to the songs. Ardipithecus is my first album in my entire career and it makes me feel so blessed to be able to share my evolution with the LightEaters as I continue excavating my inner worlds…

The entire album is available to stream in the Spotify player below. Think of this as Fresh Princess of Bel Air's Big Willow Style.