Vampire Weekend Detail New Album 'Only God Was Above Us'

The previously teased effort arrives April 5

BY Sydney BrasilPublished Feb 8, 2024

Vampire Weekend spent the last few months teasing their fifth album, and today, they've finally shared concrete details. Turns out the Reddit sleuths were right, and "OGWAU" stands for Only God Was Above Us. It's set to arrive April 5 via Columbia.

In the year or so following 2019's Father of the Bride, bandleader Ezra Koenig wrote the bulk of the lyrics that will appear on the new album. The band spent the five years that followed perfecting the tracks, leading to what they call a "raga-inspired" project that "might be [their] best yet.

Pre-orders for the album are available now, including a clear vinyl, a black vinyl and a CD. A version with an alternate cover will be available through independent retailers.

Watch the album trailer and check out the tracklist for Only God Was Above Us below.

Only God Was Above Us

1. Ice Cream Piano
2. Classical
3. Capricorn
4. Connect
5. Prep-School Gangsters
6. The Surfer
7. Gen-X Cops
8. Mary Boone
9. Pravda
10. Hope

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage