Twenty One Pilots to End 'Blurryface' Era with New Album 'Clancy'

It arrives on the ninth anniversary of the duo's 2015 breakthrough record

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Feb 29, 2024

Just when you thought it was only those radio stations that keep "Stressed Out" in rotation hellbent on reminding you that Columbus, OH's Twenty One Pilots exist, the duo themselves are back to finally complete a decade-long narrative on their forthcoming new album. They've offered a first taste of the project today with the lead single "Overcompensate."

Clancy is due May 17, coinciding with the ninth anniversary of 2015's Blurryface, via Fueled by Ramen. Co-produced by Paul Meany and the band's Tyler Joseph, it follows 2021's Scaled and Icyand notably not the Top Gun: Maverick soundtrack.

Album opener "Overcompensate" arrives alongside a Reel Bear Media-directed video, which opens with cinematic B-roll and a booming voice repeating, "Welcome back to Trench," the name of the band's 2018 album that extended the world-building of Blurryface. Josh Dun is then seen drumming along to the carnival-esque, horn-flecked breakbeat motif. 

The rest is for you to discover (if you're into that kind of thing) below, where you can also check out the album tracklist.


1. Overcompensate 
2. Next Semester 
3. Midwest Indigo
4. Routines in the Night
5. Backslide 
6. Vignette
7. The Craving (Jenna’s Version)
8. Lavish
9. Navigating 
10. Snap Back 
11. Oldies Station
12. At the Risk of Feeling Dumb
13. Paladin Strait

Pre-order Clancy.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage