The Mars Volta Announce First New Album in 10 Years

Listen to new single "Vigil"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Aug 5, 2022

It's been a few years since the Mars Volta started teasing their return, and at long last, they have announced plans for their first new album in a decade. The self-titled release is out September 16, and today, they've shared new single "Vigil" to mark the occasion.

The record will see guitarist Omar Rodríguez-López and singer Cedric Bixler-Zavala at "their most mature, most concise, most focused" across its 14 tracks, all but two running less than four minutes, according to a pre-order listing.

"Vigil" follows previously released singles "Blacklight Shine" and "Graveyard Love." The self-titled album marks the first release since 2012's Noctourniquet.

The band are due to take the new material on the road this fall on their North American tour. The brief run includes a lone stop in Canada at Toronto's Massey Hall on October 5.

Listen to "Vigil" below, where you can also find the album's tracklisting.

The Mars Volta:

1. Blacklight Shine
2. Graveyard Love
3. Shore Story
4. Blank Condolences
5. Vigil
6. Qué Dios Te Maldiga Mí Corazón
7. Cerulea
8. Flash Burns From Flashbacks
9. Palm Full of Crux
10. No Case Gain
11. Tourmaline
12. Equus 3
13. Collapsible Shoulders
14. The Requisition

Pre-order The Mars Volta.

Latest Coverage