The Joy Formidable Announce 'Hitch' LP, Share New Video

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Jan 26, 2016

Welsh alt-rock unit the Joy Formidable will return this year with a new album titled Hitch, due out on March 25 in Canada through their own C'Mon Lets Drift imprint and MapleMusic.
The new record marks the follow-up to 2013's Wolf Law and features 12 new cuts; the tracklisting can be found below. Among them is lead single, "The Last Thing on My Mind," which has been released with a cheeky new video. The clip flips the camera on to men, many of whom are scantily clad and performing dance routines. Aside from all the butts, there are also cameos from some famous faces like Jimi Hendrix and Iggy Pop.
"It's a song about freedom, about feeling alive & a part of that is about sexual liberation too, which is why we wanted to make a music video from the perspective of a heterosexual female gaze," frontwoman Rhiannon "Ritzy" Bryan explained. "It shows men in many forms, being free, being sexy, being watched, it's beautiful and provocative and is some small attempt to readdress the existing imbalance of perspective and nudity in music videos."
The band will be taking their new material on the road, though no Canadian shows are scheduled at this time. See the Joy Formidable's full touring schedule here and watch the new clip for "The Last Thing on My Mind."


1. A Second in White
2. Radio of Lips
3. The Last Thing on My Mind
4. Liana
5. The Brook
6. It's Started
7. The Gift
8. Running Hands With the Night
9. Fog (Black Windows)
10. Underneath the Petal
11. Blowing Fire
12. Don't Let Me Know

Latest Coverage