Tasseomancy Return with 'Palm Wine Revisited'

Tasseomancy Return with 'Palm Wine Revisited'
Indie folk experimenters Sari and Romy Lightman had been playing in Austra in recent years, but now the twin sisters are back with a new album as Tasseomancy. Their sophomore full-length is called Palm Wine Revisited, and it will be out on May 5 through Healing Power Records.

The album was recorded on Toronto Island and at Nova Scotia's Bay of Fundy. The Lightman sisters were joined by percussionist Evan Cartwright and keyboardist Johnny Spence.

A press release notes that the album is inspired by This Mortal Coil's 1984 effort It'll End in Tears, with some songs showcasing "pop sentiments" and others displaying "more sparse electronic arrangements" and "steel pan instrumentals."

For a taste of this, scroll past the tracklist below to hear the cuts "The Grass Harp" and "Braid. Wind Is Coming." The former is a moody folk number that swells to incorporate lush, spooky textures, while the latter sports pitter-pattering drums and electro-tropical instrumentation.

This follows the 2011 debut album Ulalume.

Palm Wine Revisited:

1. Palm

2. Braid. Wind Is Coming

3. Reality

4. The Grass Harp

5. Palm 11

6. Apophenia

7. Palm 22

8. What Life Must I Lead?

9. Black Milk Instrumental

10. Palm Wine Revisited (bonus track)