Sloan Treat 'Navy Blues' to Massive Vinyl Box Set

The set contains a wealth of demos, outtakes and more
Sloan Treat 'Navy Blues' to Massive Vinyl Box Set
Ahead of heading westward through Canada on their Navy Blues anniversary tour this month, Sloan have now detailed a massive box set reissue for their fourth studio album.

Limited to 1,200 pieces, the Navy Blues deluxe vinyl box set is now available for pre-order through the band's website. The set features three LPs, a pair of 7-inch singles, a colour poster, digital downloads and a 32-page book complete with "many unseen photos, posters, artwork, ephemera, lyric sheets" and more.

As Sloan's Jay Ferguson explained in an email, the box's first LP will feature Navy Blues "in all its glory remastered from the original mixes," while the second LP contains "home demo recordings for each track on Navy Blues...some with early different arrangements and alternate lyrics."

The box set's third LP features 14 outtakes from both the album sessions and a handful of demo recordings.

"Some of these songs wound up being re-recorded in different forms further down the road in our career (some lounging around for 20 years!) and some never went any further than here," Ferguson added. "The Outtakes LP almost makes for an alternate upside-down-world 1998 album that never was.

"We'd like to thank all the fans who have been supportive and encouraging of both the previous box sets and tours (not to mention the continued interest in our new recordings). So please make room on that shelf, and we hope you dig this latest deluxe box. We're looking forward to seeing you all this fall and next spring."

Sloan last released their 12 album in 2018. That same year, they treated digital-only EP Hit and Run to its first-ever physical release.

Find the band's forthcoming Canadian tour itinerary here. Find out where Navy Blues sits in our Essential Guide to Sloan.

Navy Blues Deluxe Vinyl Box Set:

Navy Blues (LP #1):

Side A:

1. She Says What She Means 
2. C'mon C'mon (We're Gonna Get It Started)
3. Iggy & Angus 
4. Sinking Ships 
5. Keep On Thinkin'
6. Money City Maniacs
7. Seems So Heavy

Side B:

1. Chester The Molester 
2. Stand By Me, Yeah
3. Suppose They Close The Door 
4. On The Horizon 
5. I Wanna Thank You 
6. I'm Not Through With You Yet

The Demos (LP #2):

Side A:

1. She Says What She Means (July/Aug 1996 demo)
2. C'mon C'mon (We're Gonna Get It Started) (Autumn 1997 demo) 
3. Iggy & Angus (Jan/Feb 1997 demo) 
4. Sinking Ships (Oct 1997 demo)
5. Keep On Thinkin' (July 1997 demo) 
6. Money City Maniacs (Aug 1997 demo) 
7. Seems So Heavy (Sept 1997 demo)

Side B:

1. Chester The Molester (July 1997 demo) 
2. Stand By Me, Yeah (Aug 1997 demo) 
3. Suppose They Close The Door (July 1997 demo) 
4. On The Horizon (Oct 1997 demo) 
5. I Wanna Thank You (Autumn/Winter 1997 demo) 
6. I'm Not Through With You Yet (Aug 1997 demo) 

The Outtakes (LP #3):

Side A:

1. So Beyond Me (Studio outtake) 
2. Just One Shot (July/Aug 1996 demo)
3. I Feel Lied To (July 1997 demo)
4. Mother's Day (Studio outtake) 
5. Style Is Still Style (Studio outtake) 
6. 2, 3 Hello (Aug 1997 demo) 
7. Open Your Umbrellas (Early 1997 demo) 

Side B:

1. Daddy Be Cool (Studio outtake) 
2. Family Tree (Oct 1997 demo) 
3. All By Myself (Studio outtake Version 2 )
4. Glen Campbell (July/Aug 1996 demo) 
5. I've Enabled Myself (Aug 1997 demo) 
6. Helen (Oct 1997 demo) 
7. Yours To Steal (July 1997 demo)  

7" Single 1:

A. Rock Star Admit It (July/Aug 1996 demo)
B. Out To Lunch (Aug 1997 demo) 

7" Single 2:

A. Hammond Jam Pt. 1 (Studio outtake)
B. Hammond Jam Pt. 2 (Studio outtake)